As part of the "Mettlach 2.0" site development project, Villeroy & Boch is continuing to invest in the attractiveness of the site at its headquarters around the Old Abbey in Mettlach. In addition to modern working environments for employees, the areas accessible to local residents, guests and tourists are being modernised and redesigned in order to offer them new leisure, shopping and experience areas. In the course of the next construction phase, the Old Abbey Discovery Centre with its Keravision, Museum of Ceramics, Tableware Discovery Centre and Historic Dairy will therefore be closed with immediate effect. The reopening of the redesigned areas is planned for autumn 2023 at the earliest, on the occasion of Villeroy & Boch's 275th anniversary. The Showroom Bathroom complete on the corner of Heinertstrasse and Saaruferstrasse in Mettlach remains unaffected by the current renovation work at the site and is still open to visitors by appointment.
Visitors and tourism
Like no other company, Villeroy & Boch has enhanced everyday living and quality of life for many generations with beautiful and stylish things. A visit to Mettlach's Old Abbey, the headquarters of the company founded in 1748, will take you on a very special voyage of discovery.
The purchase of the former Benedictine abbey by Jean-François Boch in 1809 laid the cornerstone for progressive ceramic production in the region. The Old Abbey has been the international group's headquarters since 1842.